zunnyman

Are NFT's and Crypto a complete NO?

4 posts in this topic

Okay so I watched @Leo Gura's latest post on his blog. 

I'll straight up say I'm far from an expert on any of this stuff, so anything I say is just to clarify my (also our) understanding. 

So I've been observing the crypto and NFT space almost daily now for over a year. 

I mostly see a bunch of gamblers, degens, looking to make quick money, highly overpriced NFT art, unoriginal art projects, etc. 

But I also see (a few) people who have some amazing possibilities of NFTs as well. 

1) By using Bitcoin Cash blockchain, you can put your music on the blockchain, without selling it or financial incentive, but to simply protect your music, as a copyright 

2) Naval Ravikant talking about how communities will be able to, in some years, vote on different plot stories for a book or a movie. So like instead of JK Rowling, just one creative writing a book, we have a community of creatives contributing to the creation of a story. Not in a completely decentralized way, obviously some centralization with the original creator of the story, but just taking on the ideas of a community of creatives for more opportunities injected into the story, more meaning with a community contribution, and non-financially driven votes as well. (All if done right) 

3) NFTs providing proof of ownership in a digital world, solving a problem from web 2.0

4) Certain cryptocurrencies solving problems like tracking criminals down that otherwise wasn't possible (Spoken in-depth by a law enforcement authority in the crypto space) 

Now from my understanding, on a high level, 98% of crypto and NFTs right now are just shit, and garbage driven by this goldrush type mania. However, over a 10 year period, I can see amazing possible use cases of NFTs and crypto, and potentially penatrating all industries if gone about right. 

Am I missing something here?