PetarKa

One Big Flaw Of The Modern Educational System

5 posts in this topic

Here's one insight on this issue:

Not once have I (or any other student for that matter) been told WHY I am studying what I'm studying in the first place. I'm in high school and this goes for each and every subject I have - regsrdeless of whether or not the subject / topic is genuinely important to know and understand, I have never been told WHY to study:

• Physics
  • Chemistry
  • English
  • Mother tongue
  • Sociology
  • ICT
  • History
  • Geography
  • Math
  • Biology

It feels like not even the teachers (most of them) fully know why they are teaching these subjcets. It's like they are there (the subjects) because they were in the past or the government thinks they're necessary. But if the later is the case, they forgot to TELL US why the curicilum is the way it is...

Avoiding the why questions is the essence of of a blue staged system/society. It's time to grow past the higher authority and become individuals, accept it's been happening for a while now, people just need to catch on to the vision.

@PetarKa Students are suppose to fill in the why.

School education covers a broad field. Learning stuff that does not suit you actually does suit you in terms of tolerance, patience, allowing, but most importantly to listen to what does not seem to entertain you. These side/hidden lessons are vital for future lessons in life.

A lot of the stuff I learnt at school cannot be seen in direct use in my life vocations. But what I do see is how it has helped me to understand other stuff in areas I have no interest in. Example, I am not into biology, chemistry or geology, yet I can appreciate nature a lot more because I can see those three subjects whenever I go for a walk in nature.