Rohit Kuna

Connecting and structuring notes is more important than just writing them : Obsidian

4 posts in this topic

Hello therexD

From past few weeks I have been intensely researching about a good note taking app, that I can use to organize my thoughts. Creating links between several parent topics and sibling topics. 

My top criteria are:

1. Security

2. Mind-mapping feature (Easy to organize) as mentioned above.

3. Offline accessibility

4. Free (As I'm a student)

I found that the software which best satisfies these criteria is "Obsidian". It's indeed a gem;) 

(In Obsidian notes should be written in markdown format which is similar to plain text with a bit of syntax. This website would help https://www.markdownguide.org/)

The most awesome feature is it allows to organize and structure notes so dynamically. We can create links to internal notes and VISUALIZE it in form of CONNECTED-GRAPH.

I tried experimenting with it in order to derive a good structure or system of linking notes. Because without a specific system linking notes randomly would be a mess. 

So I came up with a good general structure that would work with any topic or purpose:

Steps while structuring a note: 

After writing a note, at the top section of note write the following ...

1. Major_domain tag (eg. #emotional_mastery, etc) 

2. Parent_subdomain tag (eg. #sedona_method, etc)

3. Siblings notes links (eg. letting_go_guide, defining_emotions, etc)

4. Other related hash tags. (#letting_go, #emotional_release, etc)

5. Source tag (#sedona_book or #self)

I've attached screenshots from my obsidian graph :-

Red_nodes indicates Major_domains.

Yellow_nodes indicates Sources.

Blue_nodes indicates Parent_subdomains.

Grey_nodes are for topics.

(I've actually used page nodes as tags i.e. I've created HEALTH page it is empty and linked this page with the topic page. I can explain this more clearly if anyone is interested.)