Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
GroovyGuru

Tips/Advice for self-taught programmer?

5 posts in this topic

To all you developers and programmers out there...

I've been grinding the last month teaching myself front-end web development . I've already covered the basics of HTML/CSS and have built several cool static web projects. I am actually moving on to my JavaScript course today. The reason I got into studying this stuff is because I have no desire to work in the finance world which is what I studied at college and have been thinking and looking for alternatives for quite a while now. I think the Life Purpose Course didn't necessarily directly show me that I want to become a developer but definitely helped me realize my values and strengths which ultimately lead me down a road of discovering this career path. Another reason is because I've always wanted to sort of have that digital nomad lifestyle in which I could travel and work in different parts of the world while earning a decent salary, and it seems that developer jobs are ideal for digital nomad type of life. 

I am asking if anyone has any tips for someone who is self-teaching. I start a part-time finance job next week so thankfully I will have tons of time to commit to studying and practicing. So far I've been doing anywhere between 25-45 hours a week. Is web development the right choice? What should I expect when it comes time to apply to jobs? How do I make myself stand out? Really any tips are appreciated. Leo I believe you were a self-taught game developer so if you happen to be reading this maybe you can give me a tip or 2 on what to expect or how to approach finding employment. 

Thanks.