Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Ethereal

Life Purpose Anxiety

4 posts in this topic

Hey guys, this is my first post on this forum so bear with me as I ramble ( I'm sorry ). I would really appreciate some advice.

So I recently ( about 2 months ago ) finished the Life purpose course. I already knew that I wanted to do something with music but the course really helped me make my purpose more concrete and specific plus it showed me a lot of limiting beliefs and negative patterns that I had.

Anyway , I am encountering a problem. I was always a drummer but I have also been playing guitar for about a year.
I realized through the course that I wanted to master the process of making music with guitar and lyrics that influence people and help them grow. That is not exactly my impact statement as it is a bit too personal to share at this point in my journey. 

The thing is I am at a very beginner stage of guitar plus I have very little experience with  singing and melody writing.
The good news is I have been working on poetry since I was 12 ( I am 20 now ) and I am very confident about writing powerful lyrics.

But seeing the contrast of my 7 years of drumming vs my 1 year of guitar is really demotivating and it gives me anxiety.

The fact that I probably need to practise for 10+ years to get to a truly "good" as an artist and knowing that I will need to find other ways to make money until I get to a point where people would actually want to support my art , sucks a lot of the FUN out of playing and writing music. Which is what it's all about for me.

I just want to be able to stay present and get in the flow state more often so I can practise without judging myself constantly.

In essence , it's really hard for me to balance taking it too seriously vs just having fun with it.

Im sure there are hidden limiting beliefs and fears , but I've had no luck in finding them. Maybe someone could help and give me a nudge in the right direction. I'd really appreciate it ! <3