Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
schmitzy

The Diva's Diary: Mozart In The Jungle Ii

85 posts in this topic

People do love it when I perform on stage. But I have to admit – I think I'm nothing like a diva. I just wrote that because Leo mentioned something about a “sexy title” – which made me laugh hard.

I know what I want in many fields of my life. Well, maybe I should have even less goals for optimal results but I think I've narrowed it down just enough for now.

I am a twentysometing classical musician and want to get closer to mastery with my instrument which I already know on a lower professional level. Also, I really want to finally become financially independent of my parents. Before that I still have one year to finish my master of music education. But this summer, I'm already starting my first steady job to build up a tiny class at a community music center. This is a safer income than just gigs since I haven't succeeded in orchestral auditions yet. Still, I don't want to become a frustrated music teacher who hasn't actualized herself. This is why I am starting this journey.

Since I've gotten more aware I realize that subconsciously, sexuality is a huge topic for me, too. I have rarely actively thought about it since a break-up ten months ago. It had been a very toxic, neurotic relationship that left me raw. I just knew that I had to take care of myself before I could let any man get close to me or even my body again and I still think that's a very good idea.