rorghee

Meditation technique contradictions?

5 posts in this topic

I've been meditating for a couple years now and I seem to sometimes do different techniques on different days and I feel like they mess eachother up. For example I will one day practice staying present and redirecting my attention to the present and other days I will do nothing and let thoughts take over. The thing is, It feels like each time i change techniques It feels like Im starting from square 1 again because if I use the "do nothing" technique, my mind is already trained to notice when Im off track and tries to get me to focus when thats the opposite of what Ive set out to do in that specific session. and vice versa, If i try to constantly redirect my attention instead of letting go it feels like Im resisting my thoughts and being too judging. This all has caused confusion and this confusion gets me mid session where I feel guilty for not concentrating/staying present or guilty for not letting myself go and it's as if I have to unlearn one technique to do the other one. 

Is this an actual thing? should I just stick to one technique?  I want to learn to stay present but I also want to learn to let go 

Also, does just sitting down and not really trying to meditate count as meditation? like literally just sitting down, and how is this different to "do nothing"

Yeah, when techniques differ greatly at their core, I think you'll run into issues by trying to maintain them both. LOL, issues exactly like you're describing. We're trying to set up a strong neural circuit in our brains with meditation, and alternating between 2 very different (even contradictory) techniques can't help but retard the establishment of that strong circuit.