Naol

Weird meditation feeling, any explanation/advice?

3 posts in this topic

Hi, had a weird feeling during two of my meditions, but I am pretty sure that it is common and that you guys will be able to help me to understand what is going on. (Sorry if my english is not perfect, I am French). 

First of, a few background info: I have been meditating regularly for maybe 9 months now, 20 or 30 min a day, rarely one hour (mindfulness), which is not that much, but enough to be able to notice some subtle changes in my level of awareness and concentration. Also, I did a Vipassana retreat 2 years ago. 

Then comes the weird feeling as I was doing a solo retreat, on the 8th day of doing 5-6 hours of meditation a day + 2-3 hours of contemplation.

I was doing a simple vipassana meditation focusing on the feeling under my nose and then after maybe 20 min I felt like I should focus on the fact of being conscious. Suddenly I felt something like a shift of conciouness I guess.  Here a description of the feeling:

Had an intense feeling of concentration and then I felt that I was very conscious that I was conscious. This feeling was pretty stable. 

I was able to question/explore this state of conciousness at the same time of having it, without loosing it. 

Had a feeling/sensation of expansion, especially around my head and my upper body

Had an intense but not painful feeling of pressure on the top of the head (prefrontal cortex area), and in the nose, going even towards my neck. 

Was aware of my body but everything happened more around my head. Did not feel like during Vipassana classic meditation when you are scaning your body again and again and having this feeling of pins and needles, being very aware of your body. Plus, I was less aware of my lower body than my upper body. 

Didn't have a deep feeling of joy, or peace (joy the first time because it was new but then not that much). It was just kind of nice.