Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
framu

Energy Blockage From To Intense Meditation?

9 posts in this topic

I have been meditating for over a year now. I first started 20 mins with insight vipassana meditation. I then took a break for a month. I started meditating again but this time I went up to one hour of meditation each day. When I studied for my exams, my meditation practice and schoolwork was pretty intense. After about 1 and 1/2 week I mentally collapsed and couldn't do shit. When I tried to concentrate in meditation or school it was impossible. Two days afterwards I was okay and I lived life like normal. 

Before christmas I had a meditation session that was very intense. I started to feel a pressure in my head during the meditation. I didn’t think about it afterwards, but over the course of the next 2-3 weeks my concentration gradually became diminished. In the end the pressure returned and was there constant 24/7. The self-actualization potential I saw in meditation disaapeared.

I went to the doctor and all the different tests seemed fine.

Okay, so I did my research on the phenomenon and I saw that this was a common problem for some meditators. The symptoms was the same, but the answers from the people who replied on the different forums was pretty diversified. Someone talked about "a&p" and "dark night of the soul" - steps in ones spiritual journey. Some others said it could be blockages in the "energy" ("qi") system (the feeling of energy that runs throught your body). I tried many of the different solutions that was discussed. Some of them worked, like focusing down into the body instead of watching my thoughts. But in the end it always went back square one and the pressure returned. Reading so much about it from different sources makes it hard to find a solution, because I do not know from which angle I should start taking action. I am going to a buddhist monetary next weekend to see if a monks have some perspectives on it.