Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MuddyBoots

Spiritual Ramblings

6 posts in this topic

I'm starting an Actualized journal today after thinking about it for a while. Spiritual Ramblings has a double meaning: of walking on a journey and also waffling on; I expect to do both and everyone can decide for themselves which is which :) Walking in the local countryside is more than just a hobby, I seek out the wilderness (such as it is in England) to connect with eternal nature, it is my second home. Hence my username.

I have been meditating for 39 years, on and off, in various traditions. Don't know whether to bore you with the details, let's see how it goes, but I have got a practice which suits me at present although I suspect I may be at risk of coasting at the moment. 

Issue 1. How to know if I'm a slow developer, or is this is where I need to be right now? I don't feel enlightened or think I've reached any high states, but don't have a problem with that, life is good these days. Or perhaps enlightenment in my case is just a very gentle contentedness and deepening peacefulness, rather than a radical revolutionary thing. I get glimpses of egolessness / unity / non-dualism - is that what I should focus on, or are other things more important at the moment? 

Issue 2. I've learned a variety of techniques, and I'm not currently following a teacher, so decide for myself what practice to do. Hopefully this journal will reflect that and assist me. One of my previous teachers, Andrew Quernmore of vipassana.com, suggested journalling at least monthly to review the situation and help decide any changes or tweaks. Other teachers would just give me instructions which weren't really up for discussion. I've actually flipped between belonging to groups and going solo, so far Actualized.org seems a good mixture of being in a group and keeping my own authority, instead of being just a passive follower.