Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Kay100

I feel like I seem to have less ego

1 post in this topic

I'm still learning the concept of ego. Right now my basic understanding is that ego is the part of us that's like comaring ourselves with others. The ego feels hurt or become defensive when we feel inferior and ego expands when we are in situation that we are better than others in someway.

In my life experience so far, most people would feel offended when they are in a position that they are less than others, they would start to resent the person that are better than them... And they are not willing to admit their own shortcomings... the ego just won't be ok with admitting that they are less in anyway.... 

I think that's just normal, there's nothing unusual about reacting like that, it's very understandable....

But I'm not sure why I feel like I'm a bit different. I obviously do have an ego, but most of the time I feel like I'm more ok with admiting that I'm not good at something, or I'm not as good as others in some aspects. I just feel like ok with it, I don't feel much of the tendacy of getting defensive... while seem like most people would easily start to get defensive.... I'm not sure why I'm not like that..... maybe I'm born with a less competitive personality? 

So is it mainly a personality difference? Like the type of people who are very ambitious, they have big goals for themselves and want to be the best, maybe those are the type of people who have more ego? If they always want to be the best then obviously it would be very hard for them when they encounter people who are better then them, their ego would not want to admit that they might be less in anyway.....

Maybe I'm the type that's mild and easy going and never wanted to be the best, so then my ego is a lot smaller I guess?...