sjonesartist

How Are You Increasing Your Social Circles?

8 posts in this topic

I've watched a few of Leo's videos today, so I'm not quite sure which video was talking about this...

but what the gist was , was about a dysfuctional relationship, and feeling like you couldn't find someone

else/better.   Leo discussed the fact that you/we need to get ourselves around more people, to increase our

social circles, so we aren't feeling lonely, or like there isn't someone better out there.

So what is everyone doing to get themselves out there?  I looked on the site meetup.com to try to find social groups with
similar interests in my area.    Also trying to be more outgoing with coworkers and other parents at the playground etc.  This

is difficult for me as I deal with social phobia issues, but finding the more I force myself, the easier it gets.  Also (I'm a musician)

I'm trying to get out more to the local cafe's or coffee houses for open mic, and perform, and/or watch others play their

music.

Now that am focusing on this, I'm improving myself, meeting people, and getting my mind off

the past dysfunctional relationship.

I'm going through the same thing. The problem for me isnt meeting people, its finding quality, like minded positive people that I would want to spend time with. Even within the personal development or spiritual communities it is difficult. For example, I went to a meetup group that was called spirituality for men and the topic came to people meditating on a mountain and communicating with aliens. Then they said they looked in the sky and saw what they considered spaceships. I'm not one to judge, but thats just not for me.

I'm fairly new to all this so I keep and open mind and still attend various meetup groups. Also, local schools have adult continuing education classes, yoga. As you mentioned, other parents and music are good ways to bond with people.