West

Addiction To Entertainment.

2 posts in this topic

Hello!

Goal of this post: Share a case about addiction to entertainment such as Youtube-videos, podcasts, movies, series and video games, and try to find ways to personally overcome it.

My backstory:

Age and gender: 21, male

Interests: Astronomy, physics, meditation, music \m/, reading manga

I started playing video games when I was like 4. I started playing Runescape around age 10; probably the game that has taken the most of my time. I've always had a passion for studying nature (especially outer space), but I didn't focus much on it because the games kept me occupied. Bought my own gamer PC at age 14 after having watched my brother play on his own for years. This allowed me to play the latest first-person-shooters, and without time limits.

I played a lot through high school. I also got into watching Youtube, series and anime. Some of those shows have hundreds of episodes; you just never run out of things to watch. I got good grades because of an inner ambition behind all the crap, but I never had something like a purpose to focus the ambition towards. After high school I was enrolled in the military, so I was forced to stop playing games and I also stopped watching Youtube and series. This was a good detox. After the military I thought I was rid of my addictions, but they came back very soon during the summer. Last fall I started studying physics at uni, and after a 'mid-life'-crisis before the exams I went through Leo's life purpose course and found that my life purpose was astrophysics. I thought I was all set after I found out what I love to do, but the craving for entertainment has crept back several times since.

(End of backstory)