Brandon L

Grandfather basically tells me to chase money and not purpose.

29 posts in this topic

So I just got done having an interesting talk with my grandfather about careers while we were out for dinner for my dad's birthday and I had to share it.

It started by my grandfather asking me if I was happy at my job, I responded saying...

"I am, but i plan on not being there for that long because I have a side that I'm working on to eventually become my career which is my YouTube channel, I talk about spirituality."

He responds saying...

"You must not be happy at your job if you plan on leaving in the future. Go get another job where you are actually happy and never leave."

I then told him...

"I am happy at my job, but I have a greater purpose than just to be working a typical job."

He responds saying...

"Does your YouTube channel generate income?"

I told him...

"No, because I'm just starting out. Just like how any business starts out with no income. Then you gradually work towards building your business to the point where you can generate income."

He responds...

"Well the world is always changing, and right now it seems were heading into communism, and the US has transitioned into christianity. Your channel about spirituality will not work out, and YouTube probably wont be around in the future. You need to get a job or a career to where you are making alot of money and climbing the corporate ladder. If you plan on leaving your current job in the future and not climbing the corporate ladder, get another job."

I couldn't believe what he had said, but I didn't want to get into it with him at the dinner table considered it was my dad's birthday dinner.

So does that mean that people should just stay at their jobs forever, climb the corporate ladder and forget about their purpose? Because that is what he is implying.

Spirituality and truth is my purpose. I my purpose is the spread it on YouTube.