Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Thought Art

Fear and Shame

14 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

Today I woke up feeling a lot of fear and shame. I feel ashamed about so many past mistakes in my life. I feel shame for not already having my degree or enough money to pursue the things I want. I feel shame that I am studying accounting as a means to survival when I really just want to practice and teach Qigong and Yoga. I know I have the practices, tools, teachers and information to develop a good life. But, I still deal with moments of shame, fear, guilt, self doubt and uncertainty. I have to admit to myself that I am not some great person, but an average person trying to grapple with the grand truths of reality and to create a profound life. Of course this will not be an easy path and I know that I will have my ups and downs. 

When I feel low or down I sometimes beat myself up for not being joyful enough or enlightened enough. When I see myself making small blunders I wonder how I will ever create something strong and foundational if I still make these dumb mistakes. 

I have a lot of fear about social disapproval or people saying mean and untrue things about me

I feel shame for treating people poorly in the past

I feel shame I can't connect in intimate relationships like I would like

I feel shame I still haven't fallen in love and full accepted myself, reality and what IS...

I feel shame for being a fool, for so many past mistakes

I feel fear that I will continue to make mistakes and self defeating decisions in my life. 

I meditate, journal, do qigong, I read books, I make attempts again and again to make my life better. 

I realize I will die one day and that I am not special. 

I feel like I have developed some kind of grandiose self image where I think everyone cares about what I do or thinks about me all the time. I don't fully understand how I fit into the social matrix or how reality works.