DefinitelyNotARobot

Reprogramming behavior using a mantra?

6 posts in this topic

TL;TR: Can I use mantras to heighten my awareness of insights that I've gained through meditation? Can reaffirming a mantra "rewire" the mind and it's behaviors?

----------------

So I've been doing mindfulness meditation for a couple of months now and I've had a few interesting insights since I started.

There are a few moments throughout the day where I have a pretty clear mind. These moments are beautiful!  I just lay back, look at stuff and enjoy the present moment as it is! Remember when you were a kid and everything looked new and exiting? Those moments feel just like that!

It feels like "I" am pure awareness which gives me better control of what I am aware of! On top of that "I" feel really connected to whatever I am aware of!

I was laying in bed the other day, listening to music, trying to get myself into a meditative state. Suddenly all of my awareness shifted to the music.  It felt like I had left my mind and my body and I had traveled to a realm where the song was all that existed! "I" was the musician. "I" was the song! After that I felt very connected to the musician. It was REALLY beautiful!

But these moments are just fleeting. I have a few of them and that's it. The problem is thinking. Listening to thought is a behavior that has been wired deeply into "my" mind. My mind likes to pay a lot of attention to thoughts. There is something about thought that attracts my mind. Meditation feels like unwiring my mind. Unwiring this automatic behavior. It makes me stop listening to thought!

When I am in this state I do have thoughts, but I just don't listen to them. I don't pay them any attention. This got me thinking.

Can I "rewire" my brain using a mantra? What would happen if I were to repeatedly reaffirm an insight for, let's say, 10 minutes each day?

Something like: "BE the awareness", "Be the ocean, not the wave" etc.