Pookie

Dark night of the soul feeling

11 posts in this topic

I am officially lost in life. I don’t really know what’s out there anymore for me. I don’t want to give up, but I’m feeling more hopeless every  day. 

I am pretty scared over this situation I’m at right now. I graduated college in May with a degree I majored in for the wrong reasons. I thought it was secure and wanted to help my family, but I realized too late I’m not passionate about it. I don’t feel aligned. I’m taking the life purpose course right now after all this time. I knew I should have done it when I bought it 3 years ago, but I fucked up. I have no one to blame but myself. I feel like I am at step 0 again in life. 

As I’m taking the LP course, I’m facing so many inner demons and obstacles. I feel guilty that I can’t help my parents while they’re supporting me and giving me time to recover from this slump. The whole family situation feels like it’s hanging by a thread. It really does feel like I’m dying on the inside every day. The thought of suicide pops up every now and then because I just want another chance to start over, if such a thing is even possible. The only real thing stopping me is the grief I’ll leave behind for my family. 

At the same time, I know I don’t want to live a life that’s not aligned with a purpose. I always knew I want to help people because I do care for them. I guess that’s a clue so far in this journey. I know it sounds like I’m being pulled in multiple directions. Like I said, I am lost. How do I even cope with this feeling? Has anyone been in a similar situation and pushed through? 

51 minutes ago, Pookie said:

At the same time, I know I don’t want to live a life that’s not aligned with a purpose.

Are you sure you can't use your degree in some way while you are finding your "life purpose" career?